12. Keep On Keepin’ On…

September 15, 2009

4:05pm

Not much news to report today. Still no sales since Friday. I didn’t bother looking at how many hops I’ve had at CB because I knew it would just discourage me. Look at the money, see if I’ve made any, if not then I move on. A couple miscellaneous things to mention though:

– I discovered, in a roundabout way, that an acquaintance of mine from school is involved with internet marketing. He’s not here this year because he moved up to big, bad MIT, but one of his links on Facebook was for an IM training webinar, so I started talking to him. Turns out that he’s been at it since May (about the same time as me), and he’s a project manager for an SEO firm. While there are so many ways to be successful with IM, that kind of puzzles me… You start something so you can set your own schedule and income, and end up working for someone else again! Chacun à son gout, je suppose (lit., “each to his taste”).

– Remember the person I mentioned a few posts ago that I was certain wouldn’t support me if I told them about my IM efforts? I unintentionally spilled the beans last night, and it wasn’t as bad as I thought. The basic impression that I got was “As long as you’re making money from it [I told about the bit of money I’ve already made], then it’s fine.” While I’m glad that they’re not as upset as I was expecting, I can still tell that there is some worry about whether or not I’ll have stability and a consistent income. I hope to prove to this person that it’s a worthwhile venture.

– I trimmed down my keywords for the current campaign a little bit more, so I have 49 total instead of the previous 69, with 12 already done, leaving 37 more. This means that I’ll get done sooner, so I will have more time to take more action before the mark arrives.

– By the way, the title of this blog comes from the words of Paul in Philippians 3:13-14 – “Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.” I think it’s fitting, and it’s what I hope to do, not only in my career but also in my spiritual life.

– I wish there was a way to include the time in my posts by default. Until I find some way to do that automatically (I don’t think WP has this feature), I’ll include the time whenever I make a new post or edit. I’ll do this so I can look back and see how long it takes me to do things, and see if I get any faster. Also, so you can yell at me for taking three hours to write two articles, and so on. =)

Speaking of time, I’ve already spent over an hour without getting anything done. I will usually start working around 3:00pm, and my goal is to be done around 8:00, or 9:00 at the latest, depending on how much homework I have. I need to be done by 8:00 tonight. Because of this, I’m going to flip my wireless switch off and get busy, so as not to be distracted any more by the internet than I already have been. See you in a couple hours!

Brad

8:13pm

Wow, I can be more productive than I thought.

It actually only took me about two and a half hours to write 7 articles. I wrote from the time I finished this post until about 5:35, and I headed down to dinner until 7:10 (I talked with my girlfriend for awhile). I just finished right at 8:00, and then submitted the articles. Turns out that I didn’t have to stop at 8:00 tonight, but I pushed myself and got done by that time anyway. I’m still surprised that my articles are longer on this campaign, but I’m still putting them out more quickly than the last one, probably because I’m interested and somewhat passionate about this niche. These articles are running from 350-500 words (not counting resource box), whereas the last campaign’s were barely hitting the 250 minimum.

ONE article has been approved today, and another is at 4/5 approval right now. I’m just going to be patient though…they’ll go through when they go through.

I heard back from the forum member who I had sent a message to about a particular method they use. I was familiar with the method, but I learned a different approach that I might implement after I’m done with this campaign. I can see it allowing me to shoot for much higher targets, if I use it correctly. It would still be in the realm of article marketing, so it’s nothing I would be completely unfamiliar with. As with anything, if I used it, I would probably mess up several times before figuring it out. That’s life, though, right?

Shout-out to Andy who commented and assured me that I’m not just babbling here for my own sake. Now, if other lurkers would just follow suit…

Leave a Reply

